7.10.2017 Celebrations

Greetings from Guatemala! Everything is super great here.  Its hard to believe that in 2 dayson Wednesday, I will hit a year in the mission!! The time has flown by.  Next week, there will be a few pictures of the celebration 🙂
So on Tuesday, it was the birthday of the greatest country in the world.  Happy 4th of July everyone!  I did divisions that day with an Elder from the United States, Elder Wood.  In our district council, we ate hot dogs and cake, and then for dinner that night, Elder Wood and I bought a package of 8 hamburgers and a 3 liter of orange soda and went to town.  4 cheeseburgers each, pictures below.  We may or may not have started eating by listening to the hymn, “My Country ‘Tis Of Thee.”  ‘Murica  🙂
So I want to start including two things every week in my emails, we will see how it goes and if I like it, and if I like it I will keep doing it.  Thanks Alison for the idea of looking for more miracles in the week!
Miracle of the Week: We had two baptisms!!  It was so incredible.  So on Saturday, we baptized Deiry.  Her sister got baptized about 8 months ago, and she was listening to the Elders but didn’t want to get baptized.  After 8 months, she finally decided to get baptized, and it was amazing!  She has such a strong testimony and was so happy to finally get baptized.  She and I got in the water, and it was super super cold. We were standing there shivering so hard! But, as I raised my arm and started saying the words,  I stopped shivering immediately and was filled with a warmth that I cant even describe.  It was incredible. So we actually don’t have a baptismal font here in Ixhuatán, so what they did is they brought us a portable font, the one from Jalpatagua! Yes, the same font that we used for my very first baptism in the mission.  Also, since there has never been a font here, we have always had to go to other areas to baptize, but since we had the font this week, the 2 baptisms we had were the very first baptisms that had been done in Ixhuatán!  Cool stuff. The other baptism was Juan.  He suffered an accident and lost the memory of half of his life, and he is lucky he didn’t die.  He is very humble but has such a desire to follow our Savior Jesus Christ.  The portable font didn’t have much water in it since we filled it up from a water tank that was in the house church we are using, but there wasn’t any more water anywhere else, so we had to make it work.  He is about my size, and the water came to about 3 inches above my knees.  It was tough to get him all the way under the water, but in the end, we got it done in two attempts.
Spiritual Thought of the Week:  Elder Otoya and I were walking with one of our recent converts, Jayro,  to an aldea (small village) really far away to go visit some people who Jayro knows.  We were just talking about life and whatnot, and Jayro said something that really impacted me.  He said that he might not have much, but when he has enough, he gives to others.  He said that it doesn’t matter if he doesn’t have 1 cent in his pocket, but if he has a full stomach and the people he loves are happy, then he is happy.  I thing we can all apply that lesson to ourselves!  Many times, we only think of our own needs and if we are going to have enough.  We need to be more humble and have more charity.  I like a saying I’ve heard a few times that says, ¨humility isn’t thinking less of yourself, its thinking less about yourself.¨ If each one of us starts thinking a little less about ourselves and more about others and how we can help them, I promise you that we will be more happy and we will be able to receive more of the blessings that our Heavenly Father has for us.
Thank you for all of your support as always, I really do appreciate all the emails I receive from you all.  This week, please pray for Arister so that he will be able to get baptized this weekend, as well as Brandon, so that he can get baptized next weekend.  Also, please pray that the chapel finally gets finished hahaha but really, please do! I love you all, have a fantastic week!

Love,

Elder Semus
Misión Guatemala Sur
#IréHaréSeré
Pictures:
1. 4th of July dinner
2.  Me, Hermana Guzman from Virginia, and Elder Wood from Utah in our district council on the 4th of July
3. District council with our cake!
4.  In the new chapel.  It’s coming along!
5. Deiry´s baptism!
6. Juan´s baptism!
Leave a Reply

